In recent years the use of CBD oil to treat a variety of ailments has grown significantly. Many believe that it has medicinal properties that d not come with unwanted side effects, which a big reason that it is growing in popularity. However, it is important to know the law in Texas regarding CBD so that you do not find yourself facing criminal charges.
While CBD oil is legal in many states, it is not legal to possess it in the state of Texas unless you fall into a certain category. Anything that contains even just trace amounts of THC is illegal. While CBD does not have the properties to cause the user to get high, it often does have minimal amounts of THC in it as it is made from the marijuana plant. Unless you have been granted special permission from the state to possess it you could face serious charges.
In the state of Texas the possession of any amount of THC can actually result in you being put in jail. The charges can vary from municipality to municipality, but according to state law you could face up to 6 months in jail and a $2000 fine. Most people find that the risk is not worth the benefits of using CBD while others are not too concerned about the possible legal ramifications. It is something that should be thought seriously about before obtaining it. Check out https://cbdoilgeek.com/texas as a great resource for more information on this.
The only way that you can legally possess CBD is if you are on the Compassionate Use Registry and have been prescribed marijuana by your physician. In order to get on the registry you have to suffer from intractable epilepsy. There are three dispensaries in the state that are authorized to produce and distribute CBD. The CBD must contain less than .5% THC to be approved for use under this law.
It is important to note here that while CBD has been approved by the federal government for medical use, it is still illegal for a doctor to write a prescription for it. In short, it is not legal in the United States per federal law to possess, sell or use any substance that contains THC. While the government has not been taking significant action against states that have legalized it, it must be known that they do have the right to do so at any time.
In short, if you are not registered under the Compassionate Use legislation you can not legally possess CBD in the state of Texas. Breaking this law can lead to being incarcerated, fined and charged with a class B misdemeanor. This is a rather serious charge and could affect your ability to obtain employment.
Now that you know that the law is in Texas regarding CBD it is up to whether or not it is worthwhile to possess it. It may also be the case that you can qualify for the registry. If you suffer from epilepsy it is certainly worth speaking with your doctor about whether or not you qualify.